Book Tag: How I Choose My Books

choosebooks

I was tagged by the wonderful Birdie @ BirdieBookwormBlog

I love talking about books, as you’ve noticed 😛 But I’ve never really gone into detail about why I pick the books I want to read. This seems like the perfect way to address that 😀

Find a book on your shelves or e-reader with a blue cover.
What made you want to pick up this book?

There are two main reasons I picked this one up: 1) it’s Adam Silvera and his writing is amazing and 2) queer characters! I’m always on the lookout for books with queer main characters, as I am queer myself, so when I saw this at the bookstore I just had to buy it. Also, I love sad things sometimes and Silvera always manages to make me cry.

Think of a book you didn’t expect to enjoy, but did.
Why did you read it in the first place? 

27362503

A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi

I picked this up mostly out of curiosity? I wasn’t a big fan of The Star-Touched Queen, but Chokshi’s writing had a lot of potential. So I was a little hesitant about reading this, but I ended up really enjoying it! All the missed potential in TSTQ was visible in this one, and I ended up falling in love with the story.

Stand in front of your bookshelf with your eyes closed and pick up a book at random.
How did you discover this book?

27362503

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Tumblr, haha. I have a friend over there that is absolutely 100% head over heels in love with Ronan, so after listening to her talk about how amazing and creepy this book was for a million years, I ended up buying a print copy for myself. Have to say, I am very glad I did, because this ended up being one of my favorite series ever!

Pick a book that someone personally recommended to you.
What did you think of it?

27362503

The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

I’m not a fan of video games, but my best friend is obsessed with them. This is how we compromise: she plays and I read books 😛 She recced me the entire The Witcher saga last year, and I read the first installment at the beginning of this year. I have to say I really liked it! The mythology was super cool and there was a lot of action, and it definitely got me interested in the rest of the series.

Pick a book that you discovered through YouTube / book blogs.
Did it live up to the hype? 

27362503

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

Yes, it sure af did!!! The only reason I picked up Vicious was because I saw so many people on bookstagram raving about Schwab and her writing. It still took me a really long time to actually read it? But oh my god, it was so so so good and beautiful and painful, and it’s now one of my favorite books ever.

Find a book on your shelves or e-reader with a one-word title.
What drew you to this book?

27362503

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I love love love retellings in general, as you probably know by now, but what really drew me to this was the Sci-Fi aspect in addition to that. Robot Cinderella and alien planets? Sign me up!

What book did you discover through a film / TV adaptation?

27362503

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

The entire world was talking about Game of Thrones when the show started. After watching the pilot with my parents, I legit ran to a bookstore the next day and bought the first 4 books. I just needed to know what happened! Now ASOIAF has pretty much taken over my entire life, tbh.

Think of your all-time favorite book/s.
When did you read these and why did you pick them up in the first place?

27362503

Written in Red by Anne Bishop

I’m in love with creepy stuff and shifter/monster books, and Anne Bishop managed to mix those two things up so so so well in this series. I read this back in 2013 and must have reread it about 2-3 other times since then, and the writing and plot still blows me away. I picked it up because I was in an Urban Fantasy mood and had just finished reading Bishop’s The Black Jewels series, which I also totally fell in love with.


Tags:

Book Twins Reviews | Book Lovers Blog | Naty’s Bookshelf


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’

4 thoughts on “Book Tag: How I Choose My Books

  1. Naty says:

    Thank you for the tag! As I have recently answered this one, I will answer it again another time 😊

    I’ve bought Vicious a few weeks ago! Looking forward so much. Revenge comes soon, I think!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Birdie says:

    Man, I want to read Vicious so bad. Last time I was at the bookstore I looked to see if they had a copy. I have a feeling it’s going to be so great!

    I also love Raven Cycle, and Ronan. He was my favorite in the series too!

    Thanks for doing the tag and pinging me.

    Like

Leave a comment