Review: EPISODE THIRTEEN by Craig DiLouie


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

28114396
EPISODE THIRTEEN
Craig DiLouie

Genre: Horror
Publisher:Redhook
Pages: 467
Publication date: January 24, 2023

Fade to Black is the newest hit ghost hunting reality TV show. It’s led by husband and wife team Matt and Claire Kirklin and features a dedicated crew of ghost-hunting experts.

Episode Thirteen takes them to Matt’s holy grail: the Paranormal Research Foundation. This crumbling, derelict mansion holds secrets and clues about the bizarre experiments that took place there in the 1970s. It’s also, undoubtedly, haunted, and Matt hopes to use their scientific techniques and high tech gear to prove it.

But, as the house begins to slowly reveal itself to them, proof of an afterlife might not be everything Matt dreamed of.


Episode Thirteen was one of my most anticipated horror reads for this month and… it was okay? One thing I loved about it was the story structure and format with all the video descriptions and interviews and emails and messages. I always enjoy having to put the pieces of a story together through written correspondence of some kind and that was, personally, super fun to read.

The pace was a little slow, though. There was a lot of set up in regard to both introducing characters and introducing the mechanics of Fade to Black the TV show. So it took some time for the plot to really get going and for the ghost and haunting business to become part of the plot. When it did, things did get quite tense and intense!

But I think I didn’t enjoy this as much as I hoped because everything started dragging a little after a while. The horror elements weren’t as present as I would have liked and there were a lot of repetitive scenes of characters sitting down and talking about what they were going to do. It was a bit difficult to stay engaged with the story.

And then the ending and its final twists… they were not for me. The book really lost me with the last journal entries and the explanation about what was going on. It wasn’t satisfying at all, personally, and it made very little sense to me to the point where I couldn’t suspend my disbelief. Sadly :/


⭐⭐⭐


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’

One thought on “Review: EPISODE THIRTEEN by Craig DiLouie

Leave a comment