Book Tag: The Emoji Book Tag

emojitag

I saw this book tag going around a few months ago, and it Spoke to me 😛 I use emojis all the time when I’m on my phone and even sneak a few on them into my reviews.

The idea here is to pick 5 emojis and one book that represents each of them. For this tag, I decided to go with my 5 most recent ones, although I did struggle a little bit trying to find books for them.

22840421😂 Face With Tears of Joy


Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive — and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

I don’t think I ever laughed as much with a book as I did with The Martian. Watney’s humor makes tragedy a little easier to bare. It also really shows our ability to look at a hopeless and dangerous situation and go ‘well, fuck that.’

22840421❤️ Red Heart


Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their differences, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’s mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess. But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.

I think The Song of Achilles perfectly represents the red heart emoji. At its core, it’s a heartbreaking love story between two boys separate by war. It’s beautiful and tragic and I love it so much.

22840421😎 Cool/Smiling Face With Sunglasses


If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

No one is cooler than Ronan Lynch from The Raven Cycle series, let’s be real.

22840421😱 Face Screaming in Fear


When the Creeds move into a beautiful old house in rural Maine, it all seems too good to be true: physician father, beautiful wife, charming little daughter, adorable infant son-and now an idyllic home. As a family, they’ve got it all…right down to the friendly car. But the nearby woods hide a blood-chilling truth-more terrifying than death itself-and hideously more powerful.

The Creeds are going to learn that sometimes dead is better.

I read Pet Sematary on a hot summer afternoon while I was bored. I must have been… 10-11 years old? I found an old copy between my godmother’s things, and it seemed interesting enough. Let me tell you – to this day I still have weird and creepy dreams about it.

22840421🤓 Nerd Face


Victor and Eli started out as college roommates—brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities. But when their thesis moves from the academic to the experimental, things go horribly wrong.

Intelligent college-aged boys doing experiments to develop abilities? Sign! Me! Up! Vicious is actually one of my favorite books ever – the comic book science and morally ambiguous characters are right up my alley, and this book does not disappoint.

**

That’s the end of the book tag! This was rather fun – if a little difficult – to do 😀 And once again I cheat and tag everyone who’s interested in doing this 😉


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’
6 thoughts on “Book Tag: The Emoji Book Tag

    • owlsreads says:

      Thank you!! The Martian is really heavy on the science, but also SUPER FUNNY 😀 And Vicious is one of my favorite books ever??? So hopefully you’ll get to read them soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Birdie says:

    I’ve heard so many people talk about Song of Achilles. I remember seeing it pop up on Goodreads a long time ago, and I never read it. I really should try, but it’s the ‘tragic’ part that makes me nervous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

