Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freakout!

midyearfreakout

I love mid-year check-ins, so when I saw this tag @TwoBookThieves I just had to write my own. And since Top 10 Tuesday is on a break until August, I thought this was the perfect time to do it!

1. THE BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2017?

27362503

The Demon King by Cinda Williams Chima

I was not expecting to love this book so much! For years I’d seen the cover and title thrown around among book lovers, especially Fantasy fans, but I was always so resistant to pick it up. It wasn’t until the beginning of this year that I finally did and, let me just say, oh my god! The world-building in this novel is freaking incredible, the characters are layered and developed, and the plot is so! yummy! I read the entire series in less than a week, and I’m happy to say they are now one of my favorite YA Fantasy books ❀

2. YOUR FAVOURITE SEQUEL OF 2017

White Hot by Ilona Andrews

I waited soooo looong for this book to come out! But I’m oh-so-very-happy to say that it met pretty much all of my expectations. This is definitely a worthy sequel and continuation to the Hidden Legacy series. It also has so much unresolved sexual tension, holy cow.

3. A NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ BUT WANT TO

I absolutely loved Every Heart A Doorway and when I saw McGuire was writing a companion book I almost cried. This is such a delightfully creepy universe filled with magic and mysteries. I’m really curious about Jack and Jill’s story and hope to pick this one up soon.

4. MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson

I’m so curious about this novel. The cover is absolutely gorgeous! The story also seems to be right up my alley: Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk. But when she receives her first royal patronβ€”Rook, the autumn princeβ€”she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes – a weakness that could cost him his life. How cool is that?

5. YOUR BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

The Monet Murders by Josh Lanyon

This book was such a let down, oh my god. I had really high expectations, as I loved the first installment, but everything crashed and burned when I read this. Everything I loved about the first installment was missing in this one, from the cool mystery to the romance to the humor. Just, ugh.

6. BIGGEST SURPRISE OF THE YEAR

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier

And what a good surprise, wow. I can safely say I was not expecting to love this. To be honest, I wasn’t even expecting to like this πŸ˜› But Maurier’s writing took me away and completely hooked me. I was fascinated by the narrator and Rebecca’s story, filled with mystery and misery and love.

7. FAVE NEW TO YOU OR DEBUT AUTHOR

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

I am so in love with Arden’s writing!!!! This was such an amazing read, honestly. Everything about it captivated me, from the writing to the use of folklore to the characters. Katherine Arden definitely won over my heart with her awesome storytelling skills πŸ˜€

8. YOUR NEW FICTIONAL CRUSH

Keepsake by Sarina Bowen

I was kind of missing New Adult books, so I got Bowen’s True North series on a whim. Let me just say: great decision making on my part. The humor throughout the novels is spot on and it’s super easy to fall in love with the characters. In my case, Zach totally won my heart with his innocence and bravery and flushed cheeks.

9. NEW FAVOURITE CHARACTER

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

Lazlo Strange is an absolute gem of a human being and I will fight anyone who says otherwise.

10. A BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb

This entire series is so important to me. To have it reach the end? Absolutely heartbreaking. I laughed, I cried, I raged,Β I cried some more. It was everything I wanted for Fitz and his Fool but it still kicked me right in the heart.

11. A BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

A Darkness Absolute by Kelley Armstrong

I know this is a weird book to pick – murder and all -, but I was so scared this was going to be a disappointment. I was pretty much jumping up and down with joy when this novel turned out to be just as amazing, if not actually better, than the first one.

12. FAVE BOOK TO MOVIE ADAPTATION YOU’VE SEEN THIS YEAR

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

Does TV show adaptation count? Because the spot definitely goes to American Gods. The TV show is just as strange and creepy as the book, but with a bonus of Ricky Whittle and more Mad Sweeney. Also queer a queer Djinn. Really, if you haven’t read/watched this yet, please go right ahead.

13. FAVE BOOK POST PUBLISHED THIS YEAR

Buddy Reads with Mom post. I actually teared up while writing it πŸ™‚ It holds a special place in my heart.

14. MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT/RECEIVED

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

I was lucky enough to find this really cute paperback edition of Heartless while killing time at a bookstore. It’s so shiny and nice, and I love the tiny little hearts all over the cover. It kind of makes it seem like the story is just as adorable, when in reality… it’s madness!

15. WHAT ARE SOME BOOKS YOU NEED TO READ BEFORE THE END OF THE YEAR?

nr

There are way too many books! But here are a few I’m really excited to sit down and devour:Β Wildfire by Ilona Andrews, Wish You Were Here by RenΓ©e Carlino, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, Malice by John Gwynne, King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard, Flame the Mist byΒ Renee Ahdieh.

**

This is it for the book tag! I tag anyone who wants to take a look at their first half of 2017 and reflect on all books they’ve read so far ❀


FIND ME:
GOODREADSΒ | INSTAGRAMΒ | TWITTER |Β BLOGLOVIN’
7 thoughts on “Book Tag: Mid-Year Book Freakout!

  1. Naty says:

    I really want to read Demon King! I’ve read the Heir series from her and really enjoyed, but I’ve heard amazing things from this new one

    Like

    • owlsreads says:

      It’s amazing! I’m not. I accidentally spoiled myself for a character death, so I decided to protect myself from the pain and not read it. I might change my mind in the future, though πŸ˜› Have you read it?

      Like

      • Birdie says:

        Nooo, I read the first chapter, my heart broke into a million pieces and I put it aside to pretend it was only a horrible dream.

        Like

Leave a Reply

