Top 10 Tuesday: Buddy Reads with Mom

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Mother’s Day Freebie.

I need to give credit where credit is due. I never would have fallen in love with books if my mom didn’t love them so much.

She raised me with bed time stories and picture books. She’d lie down next to me on my bed, a book propped on her lap, and she’d slowly sound out words and teach me how to read. She’d patiently listen to me stumble my way through words, sentences, and paragraphs as I read aloud, always smiling when I got a difficult word just right.

During my teenage years, I fall head first into Fantasy and Historical novels. My mom’s favorite genres. With that, we developed a new habit: buddy reads. We’d pick the same book to read at the same time, wasting a few hours on the weekends discussing our favorite parts. That is a tradition we keep to this day, and hopefully for many years to come.

I will always be thankful for mom, my favorite reading partner, who gave me the world and her love for books. Momster, this is for you. ❤

31145148Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling


The first ever book, longer than 100 pages, that I read all by myself. My mom read the Philosopher’s Stone to me as a bedtime story,
but I insisted I could read this one on my own. I’d read a little bit of it each day after lunch, while she picked it up after putting me to bed. The next morning at breakfast, we’d talk about what happened and if we were liking the story.

22840421The Book Thief by Markus Zusak


I remember the day I bought this book. I picked it up solely for the Brazilian cover, pictured here, and because I saw Death was the narrator. I actually didn’t even read the summary, so it was a bit of a shock when I found out this was about WWII. As soon as I did, though, I asked my mom to read it with me. She loves books set in WWII, so she jumped at the chance. We cried a lot together while reading this, scaring the daylights out of my dad.

30233110The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien


Despite reading The Hobbit to me when I was little, my mother only picked up LOTR after the movies came out. I was 10 when the first movie premiered and fell head over heels in love with it. So, when I saw my mom had bought them for herself, I asked if we could read it together. It was a struggle for my 10-year-old self to get through this book, and I admit to skipping a lot of pages, but I had such a great time telling my mom I wanted to be an elf.

18189606A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin


Another book we only started reading because of an adaptation. The Game of Thrones premier on HBO was more of a family, as we all sat down in front of the TV to see what was up. But my mom and I are the ones who couldn’t wait a week to find out what happened in the next episode, so we promptly bought ourselves the first four books. We loved the series so much we even brought it with us during our annual Easter trip, just so we could read together.

27883214All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr


One more war book to add to our list. This was actually a recommendation from my aunt, who loves sad stories, and mom and I were quick to buy one copy for ourselves. We actually read this one in two different languages – English and Brazilian Portuguese, and it was a cool experience seeing what changed in the translation. This book was amazing and heartbreaking to read, and we also shed quite a few tears along the way.

23299512Blood Song by Anthony Ryan


I actually started reading this on my own. It took me only a few chapters to go running to my mom, though, telling her she had to read this with me. I just knew she would love the world-building and characters, which she totally did, haha. She ended up loving this entire series way more than I do, constantly bugging me to see when the next installment was released. We had so many talks about Vaelin and his life, and I enjoyed every single moment of it.

24485589The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley


I caught my mom reading this some time ago. Since this is one of the books I have in my ‘Read Before I Expire’ list, I asked her if we could read it together. It was an interesting book, although a little bit too long and drawn out for both of us. My mom actually mentioned Cornwell’s The Winter King after we were finished, saying we should pick that up next time. So I guess I know what our next buddy read will be. 😛

23592235Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe


Robinson Crusoe was very much an adventure for both of us. It was one of the first books we read together, after I felt comfortable with lengthy novels. It was a bit of a roller-coaster, as my mom didn’t really like this book as much as I did. She still powered through, though, right until the very end. Our talks about this were a little bit more heated, since she pretty much thought this was the most boring book ever.

30095464The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah


Yes, another war book. And another miss for my mom, hahaha. I loved The Nightingale, but my mom just thought it was an ‘okay’ book. She thought the book focused on the wrong things, while I pretty much stayed glued to every word. I also cried a bit, while my mom remained stone-faced and gave me a few good and really tight hugs.

25733660The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas


Arguably the longest book we have ever read together! Also probably in our entire lives, ha! Despite having so many pages, we loved every single moment of The Count of Monte Cristo. We even managed to convince my dad to watch the movie with us during Movie Night. It took us a really long time to finish this, but it was lovely to be able to share this experience with my mom.


What are some debuts you want to read this year? Any recommendations for me?
Let me know in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’
13 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Buddy Reads with Mom

  1. Holly says:

    It’s so awesome that you and your mom read books together like this!! You’ve also read some really great ones. My mom and I are both big readers but we have pretty different bookish tastes (she loves horror, which I tend to steer clear of most of the time). Great list! 🙂

    Like

    • owlsreads says:

      Thank you!! We’re pretty lucky that some of our favorite genres overlap. She won’t go anywhere near my Contemporary YA and Urban Fantasy novels, though. 😛

      Like

  2. hopewellslibraryoflife says:

    I love several of those books. You have the sort of relationship with your Mom that I dreamed of having with my daughter. Sadly, she hates reading. Yes, I read bedtime stories, and did it all “right”–I’m a librarian even! I do get to share some books with my son at least.

    Like

  3. ruby2227 says:

    This is possibly the best mother-daughter tradition I’ve ever heard of. My mom spent a lot of time reading with me as a kid (she introduced me to Tolkien!) and we still swap book recommendations sometimes. Unfortunately our tastes don’t always overlap 😛

    Like

    • owlsreads says:

      Hahahaha, thank you!!! And yay for Tolkien! 😀 This is something I hope to share with my future kids as well. 😛 I do realize we’re super lucky that our tastes match so well. It’s totally different with my dad, who only ever reads thrillers. He does make sure to sit me down and tell me all about them though, haha. 😛

      Like

Leave a Reply

