Top 10 Tuesday: Reading Wishlist

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Ten Things On Our Reading Wishlist.

The thing about being an avid reader is that, sometimes, most books out there sound exactly the same. There are always hidden gems, but usually it just seems like authors are writing about the exact same themes/situations, only wrapped in different covers.

And so is the struggle of a reader; wanting to find and read books no one is writing about. So, here are my Top 10 Reading Wishlist prompts:

LGBTQ+ STORIES THAT AREN’T ABOUT COMING OUT

Please, for the love of books! As a queer person myself, just give me some epic fantasy aboutΒ a group of queer characters who have to fight dragons and use magicΒ and save the world. Just give me a story where a character isn’t defined by their sexuality, and that’s it.

WEIRD AND UNIQUE FORMATTING

So, you know Illuminae? Or House of Leaves? I want more books like that. More books with unique formatting, where reading them is very much like unraveling a cool and creepy story. I want to feel like a part of the adventure. I want to fall deep into a new universe!

YOUNG VAMPIRES

And by young I mean a vampire who has been turned around 10-15 years ago. A vampire who is just discovering their immortality. Bonus points if everyone thinks they’re old af.

URBAN URBAN-FANTASY

Give me fae run coffee shops who sell coffee with shots of charisma and luck. Witches who perfect spells so every time you lose your phone, it appears back in your pocket. Vampires who work at diners that only open at night. Sirens who sing in commercials and dazle everyone to buy things. πŸ˜›

DIFFERENT WARS

Not just books set in WWII, despite how wonderful they can be. And with that, not just books set in London or Paris or Germany. Give us history about different countries, their struggles, a time of terrible actions and incredible strength.

POSITIVE FAMILIALΒ RELATIONSHIPS

Whether it be active parents in YA who are actually involved with their kids’ lives or siblings who are close and love/support each other. Happy families exist out there, and I wish more authors would write about them.

LESS COMMON RETELLINGS

I am retellings trash. But reading and rereading about authors tackling Cinderella, Snow White, Beauty and the Beast, and Greek Mythology gets old after a little while. Give me non-Western myths and fairy tales, please!

MORALLY AMBIGUOUS MAIN CHARACTERS

Yes, hello, I just really want people to write more books like Schwab’s Vicious. That’s it.

LESS LOVE TRIANGLES, MORE POLY RELATIONSHIPS

I mentioned this in my #DoNoWant Top 10, where I listed things I’m not a fan of in books, and I stand by it. Give me less love triangles and more books where those three (or more, haha) characters end up falling in love with each other.

GIRL PIRATES

I love pirates, and I just really really want to read a book where a group of girls have their own ship and reign terror through the seven seas. Can you imagine if Black Sails’ Max, Eleanor, and Anne Bony all worked together? ❀


What things are on your reading wishlist?
Let me know in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADSΒ | INSTAGRAMΒ | TWITTER |Β BLOGLOVIN’
18 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Reading Wishlist

  1. Holly says:

    I would LOVE to read about more ambiguous main characters. It makes the story so much more interesting! Vicious is a great example of that, as is Frankenstein. Great list!

    Like

  2. Birdie says:

    We had a couple that were the same, that’s great! I love seeing the things I’m hoping for reflected by someone else. Maybe if we all wish for them the powers that be will listen!

    Like

      • Christina @ The Bookshelf Corner says:

        Just wanted to say your post got me inspired. Last month I thought up a new story idea involving girl pirates that I’m really excited about πŸ™‚ (Not what you wrote of course but something entirely different; a marriage of two elements, if you will.) It’s still in the conceptual stage though and probably won’t be written for a while but it’s a story I’d like to see come to life. So thank you!

        Like

    • owlsreads says:

      YES, PLEASE, AND THANK YOU! I’d love to read an Epic Fantasy book where pretty much every relevant character is queer. Or a Mystery novel. Or Science-Fiction!!! GIVE ME QUEERS IN SPACE, WITH DRAGONS, FIGHTING BAD GUYS ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

