Top 10 Tuesday: Dining With the Dead or Authors I Wish I Could’ve Met

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Authors I Wish I Could’ve Met.

This is my spin on this week’s ‘meeting authors’ theme. There are a lot of fantastic authors that aren’t with us anymore, and some I’d very much like to have dinner with.

31145148Daphne du Maurier


1907-1989. Daphne du Maurier has quickly become one of my favorite authors. Her stories are so captivating and intriguing, and her writing takes my breath away. It also seems like she’s lead a pretty interesting life, and I wish could sit down for afternoon tea with her and have a chat. Books: Rebecca, Frechman’s Creek, The Scapegoat, The Birds and Other Stories.

Mary Shelley


1797-1851. I’ve said this before, but I would absolutely love to meet Mary Shelley. I’d very much like to thank her for being such an influential voice in literature, as well as for coming with up such delightful creepy things to write about. She’s another person that led quite the interesting life and had some pretty well-known friends. Books: Frankenstein.

30233110William Shakespeare


1564-1616. Need I say anything? 😛 While Shakespeare is not the sole reason I decided to become an English major, I can’t deny his plays and writing had something to do with it. Mostly, I’d just really like to tell him dick jokes. Plays: Macbeth, Hamlet, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Julius Caeaser.

18189606Harper Lee


1926-2016. There is so much about Harper Lee’s life I’d like to know, but the two burning questions I have are on how she felt about writing, and how much, if so, did the success of her first book impact her. As someone who struggles a lot with her writing, I just wish I could’ve heard her thoughts on the subject. Books: To Kill a Mockingbird.

27883214Robert Jordan


1948-2007. I have no idea how someone can write such a long and complex series of books, keep it all straight in their heads, and somehow not lose themselves on the way. Robert Jordan showed us is possible to do it, and not only that, but do it very well. I would have loved to pick his brain about developing characters and different plots/subplots, as well as question him about the wonderful and fantastical worlds he created. Books: The Wheel of Time series.

23299512Virginia Woolf


1882-1941. Mostly, I’d like to give her a hug. I’d also love to thank her for bringing stream of consciousness into writing and working through characters’ emotional and psychological sides. That is something that heavily influences my own writing, and I wouldn’t have come across it if not by reading her works. Books: Mrs. Dalloway A Room of One’s OwnThe Waves.

24485589J. R. R. Tolkien


1892-1973. Tolkien was such a huge part of my childhood. I would love love love to sit down and listen to him talk about Middle Earth, and to thank him for providing me such delightful moments while I read his books with my mom. I’d also love to ask him about the process that went into constructing languages. Books: The Lord of the Rings trilogy, The HobbitThe Silmarillion.

23592235Octavia E. Butler


1947-2006. Such a beautiful voice in Science Fiction. If I could have met Butler, I would have given her the biggest hug in the world. She did so much for Literature with her novels, bringing minorities to the spotlight and addressing difficult themes with her writing. Books: KindredFledglingXenogenesis trilogy.

30095464Gabriel García Márquez


1927-2014. I have so so so so much love for Magical Realism! It’s one of my favorite genres in the entire world -both to read and write about -, and Márquez was so incredible at it. My soul would leave my body if I was able to talk to him about the use of that in his works. It wouldn’t even have to be an entire dinner. Just fifteen minutes would do. Seriously. Books: One Hundred Years of SolitudeChronicle of a Death ForetoldOf Love and Other DemonsLove in the Time of Cholera.

25733660Jane Austen


1775-1817. Jane Austen’s works have brought me so much joy since… well, since I could remember. I’d absolutely love to hear about her life and her writings, as well as discuss her published works. Oh, and I would love to show her the 2005 adaptation of Pride and Prejudice. You know, for reasons. Books: Pride and PrejudiceSense and SensibilityPersuasion.


What are some authors you want to meet, have met, or wish you could have met?
Let me know in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’
6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Dining With the Dead or Authors I Wish I Could’ve Met

Leave a Reply

