Musing Mondays – Reading Next & Fairy Tales

musingm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by The Purple Booker, that asks you to choose a prompt to answer + reply to a random question.

Choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

Up next I think I’ll read…

I have waaaaay too many books on my TBR, as you know. 😛 I’ve been trying to tackle those unread books by making use of a TBR Jar, to see if it helps me get myself on track. So I think my next read is going to be one of the books I got from the jar:

22840421More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera


In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again—but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends.


THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION:

What do think of fairy tales in general?
The book versions and their movie counter parts?

I love fairy tales! I grew up with the Disney-version of princesses and magic, but as soon as I learned how to read, my mother got me books about them so I could go through them before bedtime. 😀

I also remember being around ten years old and finding an old paperback copy at the library that promised to show ~the real origins of fairy tales~ to readers. Little Julia had no idea how messed up those stories could be, but I was fascinated by them. As a kid who grew up loving horror and creepy things, that’s not really a surprise.

Although I’m not really a big fan of all the live action movies coming out in the past few years, they’re still pretty entertaining. I actually prefer all the book retellings like Cinder, Heartless, The Wrath and the Dawn, The Bear and the Nightingale, and others.


What book do you plan on reading next? What are your thoughts on fairy tales?
Tell me in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’
One thought on “Musing Mondays – Reading Next & Fairy Tales

Leave a Reply

