Top 10 Tuesday: Spring TBR

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Spring TBR.

Aaaahh, Spring. My least favorite season, haha! When the flowers bloom, my allergies wake up and attack me, making for some pretty miserable days. This means I have to fill my months with things that bring me happiness, and reading is definitely on that list 😀

I don’t really have set Seasonal TBRs, but for the purpose of this Top Ten, I’m going to try my best to list some of the books I’d like to read before the semester ends in June. Here are my picks:

31145148Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin


Once upon a different time, there was a girl who lived in a kingdom of death. Wolves howled up her arm. A whole pack of them-made of tattoo ink and pain, memory and loss. It was the only thing about her that ever stayed the same.Her story begins on a train.

Germania, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war. 18-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

22840421My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows


The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. Featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.

30233110Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray


Noemi Vidal is a teen soldier from the planet Genesis, once a colony of Earth that’s now at war for its independence. The humans of Genesis have fought Earth’s robotic “mech” armies for decades with no end in sight.

After a surprise attack, Noemi finds herself stranded in space on an abandoned ship where she meets Abel, the most sophisticated mech prototype ever made. One who should be her enemy.

18189606Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon


My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely.

27883214A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin


Taking place nearly a century before the events of A Game of Thrones, A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms compiles the first three official prequel novellas to George R. R. Martin’s ongoing masterwork, A Song of Ice and Fire. These never-before-collected adventures recount an age when the Targaryen line still holds the Iron Throne, and the memory of the last dragon has not yet passed from living consciousness.

23299512This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab


Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.

24485589Gemina by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff


Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

23592235Assassin’s Fate by Robin Hobb


Prince FitzChivalry Farseer’s daughter Bee was violently abducted from Withywoods by Servants of the Four in their search for the Unexpected Son, foretold to wield great power. With Fitz in pursuit, the Servants fled through a Skill-pillar, leaving no trace. It seems certain that they and their young hostage have perished in the Skill-river.

Clerres, where White Prophets were trained by the Servants to set the world on a better path, has been corrupted by greed. Fitz is determined to reach the city and take vengeance on the Four, not only for the loss of Bee but also for their torture of the Fool.

30095464The Song Rising by Samantha Shannon


Following a bloody battle against foes on every side, Paige Mahoney has risen to the dangerous position of Underqueen, ruling over London’s criminal population.

But, having turned her back on Jaxon Hall and with vengeful enemies still at large, the task of stabilizing the fractured underworld has never seemed so challenging.

25733660When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon


Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board.


What books are on your Spring TBR? Any recommendations for me?
Let me know in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’
25 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Spring TBR

  1. Jess @ The Bookshelf Club says:

    LOVE your list! I’m currently in the middle of The Song Rising right now and I have too many feelings. I really hope you enjoy it. I highly recommend This Savage Song (or anything written by Schwab because she is an absolute gem).

    Like

    • owlsreads says:

      Thank you!!! Oooohh, this is so good to hear, oh my god. I’ve been kind of nervous about this series because it can be so dense at times, so it’s v good to know it just keeps getting better and better 😀

      Like

  2. Swetlana says:

    Great list of books, Julia! I have This Savage Song on my list too after recently finishing books 1 and 2 in VE Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy! I can’t wait to see how she built a different world with new characters and if I’ll enjoy her YA works as much her adult ones!

    Like

    • owlsreads says:

      Thank you! Omg I’ve only read The Archived and Vicious by Schwab, but I looooooved them :’D I’m really looking forward to reading this one 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Swetlana says:

        I’ve had The Archived on my TBR on goodreads for YEARS now and just never got around to it because something more excting would spark my interest! But now that I know that I enjoy Schwab’s writing, hopefully I will get to it too!

        Like

    • owlsreads says:

      Aaahh, thanks! Illuminae was one of my favorite reads from last year, so it’s definitely worth your time. Happy reading! 😀

      Like

  3. Adaline says:

    Ahh, Gemina + This Savage Song are two of my favorites!! I hope you enjoy them when you get to them. ❤
    I've had Wolf by Wolf on my TBR for ages, but never gotten around to it. I've heard it's really good, though, so I'm hoping I can get to it soon!
    Great list, Julia! ^-^

    Like

    • owlsreads says:

      Aaahh, thank you!!! Yes, I’ve had some friends pressure me into starting Wolf by Wolf asap 😛 I hope we have a good time reading it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

