Musing Mondays – Bookish News & New Book Smell

musingm

Musing Mondays is a weekly meme hosted by The Purple Booker, that asks you to choose a prompt to answer + reply to a random question.

Choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

I’m super excited to tell you about…

I have two pieces of Bookish News from last week that absolutely made my day! 😁😁😁

ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE
HAS A SCRIPT!

Aristotle and Dante by Benjamin Alire Sáenz is a fantastic coming of age YA novel. It was one of my favorite books of 2015, and it tells a powerful story about two Mexican-American boys as they grow up and learn more about themselves. It’s a tale of friendship, family, identity, and sexuality.

I know having a script doesn’t mean a movie is going to be made, but Alberto being one of the participants in this year’s Latino Screenwriting Project gives me a little bit of hope. Still, this is a step forward! And I’ll keep my ears open for more news about the project.

PHILIP PULLMAN ANNOUNCES COMPANION TRILOGY
TO HIS DARK MATERIALS

The Book of Dust will be a companion trilogy to His Dark Materials. Pullmans adds that “It doesn’t stand before or after His Dark Materials, but beside it. It’s a different story, but there are settings that readers of His Dark Materials will recognise and characters they’ve met before.” (source) At the centre of The Book of Dust is a struggle between people who believe thought and speech should be free, and those who want to silence inquiry and speculation.

Excuse me while I YELL ABOUT THIS FOREVER!!!!


THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION:

Do you like new book smell? Old book smell? All book smell?

All book smell! Although I do have a slight preference for new book smell. Sometimes old books can be dusty and… moldy… which makes my allergies go crazy. But new book smell is always comforting and nice. ❤️️


What are some bookish news you’re excited about? Do you like all book smell?
Tell me in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | TWITTERBLOGLOVIN’
One thought on “Musing Mondays – Bookish News & New Book Smell

Leave a Reply

