Top 10 Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To.

Since life got a little busy last year, there were a lot of new releases I sadly didn’t get a chance to read. I definitely plan on changing that, though, as some of them look wonderful and are getting a lot of positive reviews. Here are my Top 10 books:

31145148HEARTLESS by Marissa Meyer


I love retellings and Marissa Meyer sure knows how to write them! This is a new take on Alice in Wonderland, from the POV of the Queen of Hearts. I’ve heard it’s quite different – and by that I mean darker – than her The Lunar Chronicles series, which only makes me even more excited to pick this up.

22840421THE MIDNIGHT STAR by Marie Lu


The third and final installment in The Young Elites series. I actually ordered this last month, and my physical copy should be arriving soon. I have to admit that the reason I didn’t pick this up sooner is because I’m dreading having to say goodbye to the Elites. It will be a bittersweet ending, but hopefully it won’t disappoint.

30233110THE OBELISK GATE by N.K. Jemisin


Real talk: The Fifth Season was one of my favorite 2015 reads, and a wonderful take on the dystopian genre, so I am terrified of actually reading this second installment. I loved the world Jemisin created, and her writing is INCREDIBLE! So I’ve been saving this one for when I can really sit down and immerse myself in a story again.

18189606FRONT LINES by Michael Grant


My copy of Front Lines is staring at me from my shelf as I write this, silently judging me. This book is about an alternate universe where girls are drafted to fight during WWII, and three girls who decide to join up. I have a special place in my heart for WWII fiction and non-fiction books, so I definitely plan to pick this one up soon.

27883214A TORCH AGAINST THE NIGHT by Sabaa Tahir


A continuation of An Ember in the Ashes, which I loved to pieces. I’ve seen a lot of positive reviews about it, but I want to reread the first book before I pick this one up, so everything is fresh on my mind. I have seen a lot of positive reviews, though, so I’m looking forward to it.

23299512THIS SAVAGE SONG by Victoria Schwab


Schwab is one of my favorite authors in the entire world, and I’ve been slowly reading my way through all of her works. When I saw this marketed as a dark urban fantasy, it was like all my dreams came true. I’m super excited to immerse myself in this book filled with monsters and cities at war.

24485589TIMEKEEPER by Tara Sim


A Steampunk novel, which is pretty much a novelty for me! It’s a LGBTQ+ book about cities controlled by clocks, and a clock mechanic who falls in love with one of the clock spirits. The concept sounds super unique and fun, and although I’ve been seeing some mixed review about it, I’m pretty excited to start reading it.

23592235ARCANA RISING by Kresley Cole


The Arcana Chronicles is one of my favorite YA Dystopia series. It was actually supposed to be a trilogy, if I’m not mistaken, but it’s been extended to 6 books. Arcana Rising is the fourth installment, and the stakes keep getting higher and higher as the story progresses. The 3rd book was a bit of a let down for me, so I really want this one to be good.

30095464THE GOAL by Elle Kennedy


The Off-Campus series consists of witty and funny novels, and it’s been one of my go-to reads for whenever I’m feeling down. This is the fourth installment, with each one following a new couple, and I hope it’s just as charming as the previous three books were.

25733660FEAR THE DROWNING DEEP by Sarah Glenn Marsh


An YA Fantasy/Historical novel about a witch apprentice who hates the ocean, her suspicions about the sea, and a few disappearances and deaths. The story is set in a small village during the summer of 1913, and it seems to be both a little creepy and adventurous. Also have read mixed reviews about it, but the premise sounds exciting and a little creepy, which are things I love.

.


What are some book you meant to read last year but couldn’t? Have you read any of the above?
Tell me in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
7 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To

    • owlsreads says:

      I’m really curious about Timekeeper, so it’s good to know you enjoyed it! 😀 I just order This Savage Song and I intend to read it as soon as it arrives 😛 And I finished Heartless this week and I LOVED IT ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

