Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016.

This year has been pretty harsh in some aspects. We’ve all had our struggles, some more than others, but here we all are. In 2016, books became more of an escape for me than usual. They gave me some time to cool down, to get away from the world, to forget my problems a little. And lucky for me, I did manage to read some pretty awesome books this year:

31145148CROOKED KINGDOM by Leigh Bardugo


The second and final installment in the Six of Crows series. This was one of my most anticipated reads for 2016, and it absolutely did not disappoint. I loved reading about all of these characters again, as well as seeing how everything unfolded. I left this universe with very fond memories, and this series definitely has a place on my favorites’ shelf.

31145148THE SONG OF ACHILLES by  Madeline Miller


TSOA is the book that broke my heart. It took me such a long time to pick it up, but at the beginning of the year I finally took the plunge. This book is gorgeous. The writing is so beautiful and enchanting, it really brings you into the world. It’s also so heartbreakingly sad, but it’s totally worth a read.

30233110SIMON VS. THE HOMO SAPIENS AGENDA by Becky Albertalli


This book was SO DAMN CUTE! I had such a blast reading it, I dare say it is probably my favorite book of 2016. The dialogue was super funny, and all the characters were very well-developed. All in all, I had such a fun time reading this – even the somewhat sad parts.

18189606ILLUMINAE by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff


I have to admit that one of my favorite things about Illuminae was the cool as hell format. It was structured in a way that definitely caught my attention, and it made my reading experience even more fun. I was actually a bit surprised about how much I enjoyed it, but I’m really glad I picked this one up.

27883214KINGS RISING by C.S. Pacat


The third and final book in one of my favorite LGBTQIA series ever: Captive Prince. I’d been waiting for this one for so long and had so many high expectations for it, I was kind of scared of finally reading it. But I shouldn’t have worried. Kings Rising was exactly what I wanted it to be, and it was the perfect conclusion to a series very important to me.

23299512VICIOUS by V.E Schwab


My first ever Schwab book! I read it at the beginning of the year, and totally fell in love. This superhero story was everything I never knew I wanted, and it introduced me to another incredible writer. It was the right amount of dark and gritty, with amazing characters, and a really engaging plot.

24485589A COURT OF MIST AND FURY by Sarah J. Maas


ACOMAF was actually one of those books I had to put down for a little while because I was so!!! tense!!! and nervous about what was going down. It was certainly a roller coaster of emotions, filled with twists on top of twists that left me catching my breath. And that cliffhanger ending? I only have one word: woah.

23592235THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST by Holly Black


The Darkest Part of the Forest cemented for me that Holly Black is amazing. She has a way with words and writing striking sentences that leave my speechless. The world-building in all of her books is also another really strong point, especially when she adds a little twist and dark turns into it.

30095464A LITTLE LIFE by Hanya Yanagihara


I like to refer to this as the saddest book I’ve ever read in my life. I read it all in a couple of days, and as soon as I put the book down, I legit burst into tears. I couldn’t stop crying. I had to ask someone to hide the book for me, because every time I looked at the cover, fresh tears covered my face. A Little Life is one of the best written books I’ve had the pleasure of reading, and I’ll definitely carry it with me for the rest of my life, but it totally destroyed me.

25733660CITY OF THE LOST by Kelley Armstrong


City of the Lost was a total and complete surprise for me. I got hooked into the story, the mystery, the characters, and read it all in one sitting. The little town and mystery Armstrong created was so interesting to me, and the more I read it, the more I loved this world that she created.

.


What were the best books you’ve read this year? Let me know in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten Best Books Of 2016

Leave a Reply

