Review: THE SINS THAT BIND US by Geneva Lee


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

28114396
THE SINS THAT BIND US
Geneva Lee
Published: March 15th 2016 by Estate Books
Pages: 276

I wasn’t given a choice. Not when I did my first line of cocaine. Not when I became a single mother. But I changed, and every decision I’ve made was to protect myself and my son from my weaknesses—and my past.

Until Jude came along and made me question everything, even my own secrets.

The sins I carry with me can never be discovered. Life handed me broken bits of people and left me to construct my own world, and it’s too fragile to take a chance on Jude Mercer.

We write our own stories.
We build our own prisons.
We weave our own lies.
We commit the sins that bind us.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


I will leave the storms to the sea and find peace on solid ground.

There are not a lot of books that hook me in right with the first sentence, but The Sins That Bind Us definitely did! It grasped my attention right away and didn’t let go until I was done reading the epilogue, my heart light and happy because this was such a great read.

The writing was beautiful. Geneva Lee deserves all the nice things for her use of words and construction of sentences that left me either smiling or in trying not to cry. I kept highlighting things like crazy, because there were just so many good paragraphs or sentences that I needed to go back to and reread later.

The Sins That Bind Us was incredible but it was not a happy story by any means. It was heavy, heartbreaking, and hard to get through sometimes. The characters’s struggle with addiction was very real and dealt with in a respectful manner, but the author did not shy away from how that affects people and their lives.

The romance between the two main characters was different from anything I had read before. Their situation wasn’t a usual one, which made things very interesting. Although the istalust was a little hard to overlook. But I’m glad the author developed their relationship past their desire to screw each other’s brains out.

I have to say I did see the big plot twists coming, but that in no way hurt the story for me. I was just as excited to have my suspicions confirmed, and even more interested to see where that would take the characters. And I was not disappointed at all with how everything turned out. Especially with that epilogue!

The Sins That Bind Us was a well-written and amazing story. I definitely recommend it to everyone!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
Leave a Reply

