Review: STRONG SIGNAL by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

28114396
STRONG SIGNAL (Cyberlove #1)
Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell
Published: February 15th 2016 by Megtino Press
Pages: 229

I was counting down the months until the end of my deployment. My days were spent working on military vehicles, and I spent my nights playing video games that would distract me until I could leave Staff Sergeant Garrett Reid behind.

That was when I met him: Kai Bannon, a fellow gamer with a famous stream channel.

I never expected to become fixated on someone who’d initially been a rival. And I’d never expected someone who oozed charm to notice me—a guy known for his brutal honesty and scowl. I hadn’t planned for our online friendship to turn into something that kept me up at night—hours of chatting evolving into filthy webcam sessions.

But it did. And now I can’t stop thinking about him. In my mind, our real life meeting is perfect. We kiss, we fall into bed, and it’s love at first sight.

Except, like most things in my life, it doesn’t go as planned.


⭐⭐⭐⭐


He hadn’t walked away; he’d fallen asleep outside my doorstep while waiting for me.

Strong Signal was a breath of fresh air. I can’t think of another way to describe it. It was fun and funny and it had just the right amount of angst to balance all the fluffy goodness in it. And it did such a wonderful job passing along the message that online relationships can be just as meaningful and important as the ones people have in real life!

I was actually pretty excited to start this one once I got my digital copy. I’m a sucker for ‘meet online’ stories, and this was did not disappoint. That was what the book was about, really. Two guys who met online and connected right away, their relationship progressing and turning into something deeper as they chatted, Skyped and emailed.

Half of why Strong Signal was so great was because of the characters. Garrett and Kai were both a delight to read about, especially when they were interacting with each other. They were both introverts who first established their friendship through online bantering and bickering, and things only got better and sexier from there.

Garrett was a military soldier who was unhappy with his place in the military, both because he thought he wasn’t doing enough and because of a few of his fellow soldiers who had a problem with his sexuality. Kai was a gamer who suffered from severe social anxiety and lived most of his life online, struggling with panic attacks and the idea of letting people close to him in real life.

Reading about both of them falling in love with each other and later learning how to deal with their own problems was so much fun! Some parts were a bit tough at times to get through, though, especially whenever Kai had a panic attack. But those difficult and often sad passages only served to add depth to the story and its characters, working beautifully with the set pace of the book.

With that said, this was a great read and I can’t wait to get my hands on the next installment! 😀


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
One thought on “Review: STRONG SIGNAL by Megan Erickson, Santino Hassell

Leave a Reply

