Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors

t10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors.

I’ve had the pleasure of being introduced to so many good names this year. My list of favorite authors just keeps on growing, and I couldn’t be more happy bout it! Here are some new-to-me authors I read for the first time in 2016:

31145148ESTELLE LAURE – But Then I Came Back


This was my first time reading anything by Laure, although a lot of people already knew her work from This Raging Light. I fell in love with her writing style and the way she has with words. I definitely plan on reading more of her works in the future!

22840421BECKY ALBERTALLI – Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda


One of my favorite books this year! I have no words to express the amount of love I have for this author and the world she created with Simon. It was a delight reading every page she carefully crafted, and I can’t wait to see what else Albertalli has in store for us.

30233110JEFF WHEELER – The Queen’s Poisoner


A new YA Fantasy author to add to my list! Wheeler’s writing was very easy to follow along, and the complexity of his books progressed each passing installment.

18189606BLAKE CROUCH – Dark Matter


Crouch wrapped my mind with his impossibly good writing! Dark Matter was so good and engaging and bizarre, I didn’t know what to do with myself after I finished reading it.

27883214HANYA YANAGIHARA – A Little Life


I have no words for how complex and beautiful Yahagihara’s writing is. No. Words. But I’m so glad to have them in my life.

23299512SAMANTHA SHANNON – The Bone Season


Another author everyone had been raving about, but that I only discovered this year. There is a lot to Shannon’s writing, but her strongest point is her world-building. I loved reading about the unique aspects of the universe she created in her new series, and I’m looking forward to what she does in the future.

24485589ROSHANI CHOKSHI – The Star-Touched Queen


Chokshi had a strong start this year. I can’t deny her writing is very beautiful at times, and she has a really good way with words and writing the prettiest of sentences. I didn’t enjoy her debut novel all that much, but she definitely has potential.

23592235SEANAN MCGUIRE – Every Heart a Doorway


I love weird fantasy things, and McGuire definitely knows how to write them. This was a wonderful addition to my author’s list, as Every Heart a Doorway enchants, and I loved every single bit of it.

30095464ANGELA SLATTER – Of Sorrow and Such


My new favorite! Slatter has a way of writing dark fantasy that puts hearts in my eyes. Her writing hooks you right in and doesn’t let go until the story is done.

25733660V. E. SCHWAB – Vicious


When I picked up my very first Schwab book, I felt like the last person in the entire world who hadn’t yet read something by her. And oh my god, did I want to kick my own ass. Schwab’s writing is absolutely magical, and I love every single word of it!

.


What authors are new to you? And have you read any of the above? Let me know in the comments!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
6 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Authors

Leave a Reply

