Review: LADY MIDNIGHT by Cassandra Clare


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

25529263

LADY MIDNIGHT (The Dark Artifices #1)
Cassandra Clare
Published: March 8th 2016 by Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 669

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?


⭐⭐⭐


“The choices we make, make us.”

Lady Midnight was familiar. It was like coming home after leaving the most amazing party, and cozying up in bed with a mountain of soft blankets and fluffy pillows. At this point, we know a lot about Shadowhunters and runes and warlocks and demons and magic, so it was really easy to pick up this book and immerse myself in the world of Emma and Julian.

I was actually wondering if, after so many books in the same universe, I would find this boring. So I’m glad to say that I didn’t! Despite being a 600+ pages book, it was a really quick read, fast-paced, and the overall mystery kept me engage throughout all of it. It was impossible not to notice all the similarities with the other books, though. Clare seems incapable of writing any kind of story without a love triangle and without characters being totally reckless and keeping secrets instead of talking to each other!

That was actually one of the main reasons this turned out to be a 3-star book for me and not a 4 or 5 starts one. But first, to the things I liked:

  • Blackthorns! I loved how much the siblings loved each other, and how each one of them had little things that made them unique. Ty was especially fun to read about, and he had some lovely moments during the story.
  • The Shadow Market. The Prologue took place in the Shadow Market, which sounded like a really interesting place, and I was kind of bummed we didn’t get to see much of it.
  • We learned more about the parabatai bond! I’ve been wondering about it since City of Bones and we fiiiinaaaallyyyyy got a little more information about the origins of it and everything.
  • Mark!!! Blackthorn!!!! If you check my status updates, you’ll see he quickly became my favorite character in this book. He made me so so so sad most of the time, and all I wanted was to hug him and give him all the nice things he deserves. He was an incredibly interesting and complex character (as well as bisexual yay!!!), and I loved each and everyone one of his scenes. Mostly, haha.

So for the things I didn’t like, which knocked down 1.5 stars:

  • Unnecessary love triangles. You could argue that there are 2 in this book, which is just, ugh. They’re not as bad as the whole SimonClaryJaceAlec whatever thing, but still. Not fun, not interesting.
  • Pining. So much pining. There are entire forests in this book because of all the pining. It got to the point where I just wanted to sit the characters down and make them talk!!! To each other!!!
  • Which leads me to my least fave thing, which was kind of something that happened throughout the book, but only in the last chapter did it really mess things up for me and left me with a bitter taste in my mouth: lack of communication to give way to drama and angst + unnecessary lies that cause more drama and angst!! I won’t give any spoilers, but it was just… bad.

Despite all of that, I’m still really curious to see what happens in the next installment. Lady Midnight ended with a HUGE CLIFFHANGER, so I’m mostly sitting here biting my nails and waiting to see how it all unfolds in the next book. Overall, this was just like other Shadowhunters book, and if you love the world and aren’t tired of it by now, you’ll definitely enjoy this one.


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
Leave a Reply

