Review: FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

12954620

FALLING KINGDOMS (Falling Kingdoms #1)
Morgan Rhodes
Published: December 11th 2012 by Razorbill
Pages: 412

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.


⭐⭐⭐


“Even paradise could become a prison if one had enough time to take notice of the walls.”

Falling Kingdoms was kind of a roller coaster for me. Overall it was a good start to a series, seeing as it did its job establishing a new world and introducing us to characters. But even so, I enjoyed some parts of it and others I didn’t like at all.

The book was fast paced, but more because the writing was simple. There wasn’t any overtly complicated world building, which I appreciated a lot since it didn’t take time away from the characters themselves and all the kingdom intrigue that was going on.

I also have to congratulate the author on juggling so many different POVs. All of the characters had unique voices and personalities, were fleshed out and, for the most part, helped move the plot along. A few of them were more interesting to me than others, but overall Rhodes did a good job with them.

I still wish I could have skipped all of Cleo’s POVs, though. I couldn’t find it in myself to like her. And the instalove present in her chapters did nothing at all to help with that. Jonas was a bit more interesting, with his anger and desire for revenge. And my favorites were Lucia and Magnus, for reasons I won’t get into since spoilers, but because they had one major plot point that is considered really taboo.

All in all, this was an okay read. A few plot points left me curious enough to want to pick up the rest of the series, especially since I heard things only get better as the story progresses. I hope that holds true and I enjoy the next few books.


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
2 thoughts on “Review: FALLING KINGDOMS by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

