Review: ILLUMINAE by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

233956801

ILLUMINAE (The Illuminae Files #1)
Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff
Published: October 20th 2015 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 608

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.


⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


“You have me. Until ever last star in the galaxy dies.
You have me.”

I… have no words????? Not beyond: THIS WAS THE COOLEST. BOOK. EVER.

When Illuminae was released and with all the hype surrounding it, I had to admit I was a little nervous about picking this up. It wouldn’t be the first time I disliked a book people seemed to love. But that was not what happened!!! :DD

I loved Illuminae. I really did. I knew about the different format used to tell this story, and while it seemed kind of scary and a bit confusing at first, it completely won me over. I felt like I was going on this big adventure and discovering secrets while I read the files compiled by Illuminae, trying to make sense of the situation and what was going on.

Some parts were a bit complicated to read because of the format, especially when the text was spiraling or the letters were really small against a black background. But those were few and far between, so it didn’t really affect my reading much.

And I have to congratulate Kaufman and Kristoff on the beauty that is this book. Despite being told pretty much entirely in epistolary form, I could still connect to their characters and their stories. Not once did their relationships seem flat or lacking emotion. I never felt disconnected from them or what they were going through.

I particularly liked all of the chat conversations. They were a spark in between all the mess that was everything else. That was when I found myself laughing and really getting to know the characters, charmed by their humor and opinions.

What really made this a 5 stars book for me were the last 200 pages. They were action-packed and filled with twists, some which I had an idea about and others that caught me totally off guard. And the ending was brilliantly executed, leaving us wondering right down until the last few pages.

Illuminae was an amazing book and now I can’t wait to get my hands on Gemina!!


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
One thought on “Review: ILLUMINAE by Amie Kaufman, Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

