Review: RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

22328546

RED QUEEN (Red Queen #1)
Victoria Aveyard
Published: February 10th 2015 by HarperTeen
Pages: 383

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.


⭐⭐⭐


“Words can lie. See beyond them.”

Overhyped.

That was one word that perfectly described this book for me. I had a sense of dejà vu pretty much the entire time I was reading it. While the idea was interesting, thiking oh, I’ve read this before during some parts took away some of the magic for me. There was no sense of discovery as I read about Mare, the Slits, and her struggles as a Red. And I found myself more interested in the side characters – Julian, Lucas, and the story of Cal’s mom – than any of the major players.

I also did not understand her connection with Cal at all. We were supposed to believe they had feelings for each other, but I could not see it. Their romance fell totally flat for me. And since the story was counting with my feelings for them as a couple on a minor twist later on, it only made things worse.

But the plot twist involving Maven really did get me. Which is why I’m rating this 3 starts instead of 1 or 2. The last 50 pages served to grasp my attention in a way the rest of the book didn’t, and it also made me care about how things will unravel in the next installments. It made me curious about the consequences of Elara’s actions and Mare’s reaction to it all.

So while this book was a let down to me personally, I still want to know what happens. And I still recommend this for YA dystopia lovers, as long as you don’t mind some of the similarities with a few of your favorite books.


FIND ME:
GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN’
3 thoughts on “Review: RED QUEEN by Victoria Aveyard

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Great review! I gave this book two stars and I also had that feeling of “I’ve read this before” constantly. Like it was too much of every other popular book for me to really like it… and I also just didn’t like Mare/Cal at all.

    One thing I would really, really love is if Maven turns out to be the love interest. He’s so much more interesting than Cal to me, and the fact that he’s kind of “reduced” to a villain presents a huge missed opportunity for me. 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

