Review: THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi


GOODREADS | AMAZON | BOOK DEPOSITORY

25203675
THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN (The Star-Touched Queen #1)
Roshani Chokshi
Published: April 26th 2016 by St. Martin’s Griffin
Pages: 342

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.


⭐⭐⭐


My life belongs to me.

The Star-Touched Queen is one of those books I don’t really know how to rate. I did enjoy reading it, and I did highlight a great deal of it, but at the end of it all I just didn’t know how to feel about it.

I have to say I did love the beginning. The writing was beautiful and made me feel like I was off somewhere in a magical place that was filled with stars and dreams. Maya and the situation she was in were interesting, and I absolutely loved her creepy horoscope and what that could mean for her as a character and for the plot. Amar also had a great introduction, which made me really excited to see what would happen, and Akaran sounded absolutely fascinating to me.

But after Maya got to Akaran and spend some time there, most of it without Amar at all, well… things got a bit confusing. Despite the writing being captivating at times, during others I had no idea what was going on or how the word building actually worked. The imagery created by the flowery prose sometimes made things hard to understand, and it was easy to get lost in the details and metaphors provided. I do think part of my confusion also came from not being familiar with the culture. With that, I think a lot of things just went right over my head because of my narrow worldview.

Because of that, I didn’t really connect with Maya as a character, let alone Amar and any of the others, although Kamala was a delight. And there was also the instalove, which I guess in Maya and Amar’s case was more of “eternal love”, but still, things between them happened way too quickly in the beginning of the book. I did like that Maya got to develop as a character away from Amar and their supposed relationship, though. It gave her time to grow as a character without Amar’s expectations placed on her. She had to figure things out by herself, and I could appreciate that.

So even though this book did quite work for me, I’m still going to keep an eye out for Roshani’s future works. Her writing is beautiful and I feel like she’ll only get better from here on out. 😀


GOODREADS REVIEW | INSTAGRAM
One thought on “Review: THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi

Leave a Reply

